History of LPCANC

How We Got Here

Prior to 1994, licensure for professional counseling did not exist in North Carolina. The initial Licensed Professional Counselors Act (LPC Act) ratified July 24, 1993, became effective July 1, 1994.  With passage, the LPC Act granted NC LPCs the opportunity to gain recognition in the mental health field in North Carolina amongst the ranks of independently licensed behavioral healthcare providers. 

The origins of LPCANC date back to the many unmet professional needs of LPCs. Before 1995, advocacy for LPCs occurred sporadically, if at all. LPC clinical continuing education needs were not sufficiently addressed, often competing with other counseling education agendas. Then and now, the North Carolina Counseling Association (NCCA) did not have a distinct division dedicated to Licensed Professional Counselors (LPCs). 

In the fall of 1995, four LPCs met at a coffee house in Raleigh, North Carolina to discuss NC LPC professional interests.  The 1995 establishment of the Licensed Professional Counselors Association of North Carolina (LPCANC) was founded to advance and address the needs of Licensed Professional Counselors working in a wide variety of settings.

The first LPCANC board of directors of LPCANC:  President, Bridget Shelley Atchley; Vice President, Denny Cecil; Secretary, Kathryn Glenn; and Treasurer, DJ Pappas. Early 1996, Jim Gibson joined as LPCANC newsletter (Professional Ties) editor; Jeff Pearce as Membership Chair; and Karen Elliott, Clara Atchley, and Michael Wells as Members-at-Large. Fundamental core values remain the same true values upon which established LPCANC. Broad and inclusive membership, advocacy, communication among LPCs, and professional development were the founding core values and continue as the mission and top goals of the association.

Starting a new professional association was not easy.  Many volunteer hours, a shared vision and mission combined with resolve and dedication helped establish LPCANC.  From the beginning through today, the commitment of personal time and resources coupled with an unrelenting passion for professional counseling, helped found and direct the only association in North Carolina dedicated the needs of LPCs. Initially, LPCANC was incorporated as a "Not-for-Profit". Subsequently, LPCANC was "re" incorporated as a Non-Profit Professional Membership Corporation on July 12, 2005 and received IRS Non-Profit 501(c)6 status on August 31, 2005. 

LPCANC Appointed Board Positions, Committees, and Task Forces

The President of LPCANC shall appoint up to nine (9) members to the LPCANC Board of Directors with a consenting 2/3 majority vote of the Board as outlined in the LPCANC Bylaws. Those appointments are as follows: 
  • Six (6) appointed committee chairs (Conference, Communications and Media, Membership, Advocacy, Professional Development, and University Relations) will serve one (1) year renewable terms.
  • Two (2) members at large will serve 2-year terms that are staggered so that the returning member at large will mentor the incoming member at large.
  • One (1) counselor education graduate student will serve a 1-year term.   

Subject to confirmation by the Board, the President shall appoint Chairpersons to standing committees in order to conduct the activities of the association.  

The term of office for committee Chairpersons shall be one (1) year unless determined otherwise by their duties as an elected officer. 

The President may appoint and have confirmed by Board of Directors any special committees, commissions, and task forces which are comprised of and/or chaired by individuals not on the Board of Directors. These appointees shall serve at the pleasure of and be accountable to the President and Board of Directors. They shall report to the President and Board of Directors according to schedules determined by the Board and shall be subject to recall by the Board of Directors.